Video: Worried about your Facebook data? Check the new privacy settings
In the wake of Facebook's massive mishandling of user data, you may be inclined to delete your entire account's existence off the social network. We're not going to judge.
Facebook previously revealed up to 87 million Facebook users had their data improperly accessed. Cambridge Analytica harvested information belonging to millions of Facebook users to determine and influence how they may vote at the ballot box during US President Donald Trump's election campaign. The scandal has rocked Facebook's stock price and its trust with users.
Read also: It's time to tame Big Tech: Here's how we get started
Deleting vs deactivating: What's the difference?
Facebook allows users to delete or deactivate their account.
Deleting your Facebook account
Deleting a Facebook account removes it from public view on the social network, alongside anything you've ever posted or uploaded to its servers.
Since some things like messages aren't stored on your account, your friends may still be able to see them. When you delete your Facebook account, you can't regain access once it's completely deleted by Facebook.
Facebook is on the internet, so it's important to remember some things just can't be deleted forever.
Deactivating your Facebook account
Deactivating a Facebook account enables users to hide their timeline, profile, and posts out of public view. You can reactivate whenever you want. Of course, some content like messages may still be visible by friends.